Current News

  • Tweet

ARCS MN 2020 Scholar Award Celebration

Posted on Friday, October 30, 2020

Minnesota Chapter Scholar Awards!

This year we gave awards to 6 outstanding graduate students in all 6 ARCS-approved departments at the University of Minnesota, including the newly approved Department of Neuroscience. These students have been identified by their departments for their potential to have a great impact on advancing science in their fields. See Video


Minnesota Chapter Scientist of the Year for 2020!

Dr. Rhonda Franklin

Rhonda Franklin, PhD
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, U of MN
IEM Abbott Professor in Innovative Education
IEM Inspire Program Co-Director

Dr. Rhonda Franklin will tell us the fascinating story of her journey as a scientist and how she inspires young people to follow STEM careers. Building on the Minnesota Chapter’s spring webinar about “The Need for Science Advocacy,” we are recognizing Dr. Franklin, not only for her ground-breaking research in radio and microwave engineering, but for her work mentoring and encouraging students to follow careers in science.

(See video)

In 2020, Dr. Franklin received one of the inaugural Institute of Engineering in Medicine (IEM) Abbott Professorships in Innovative Education, awarded to the co- directors of the Inspire Program in IEM at the University of Minnesota. The award is intended to help advance the IEM's mission to inspire students from diverse communities in eighth grade through junior college to see themselves in STEM careers in biomedicine and healthcare.